Introducing the 2023 Esteemed Recipients of The O’Brien Foundation Scholarship

DSC00188 obf


August 10, 2023

The O’Brien Foundation is thrilled to announce the exceptional individuals who have been selected as the recipients of the fellowship for 2023. This scholarship is a testament to our commitment to nurturing talent, fostering academic excellence, and empowering the future leaders of New Brunswick.

After an extensive and rigorous selection process, our selection committee has chosen 11 remarkable students whose dedication to their fields has truly stood out. These recipients have demonstrated outstanding achievements in both their academic pursuits and extracurricular activities, embodying the values and vision of the O’Brien Fellowship program.

Amy Johnston - Doctorate in Philosophy (PhD) in epidemiology – University of Ottawa

Abbie LeBlanc - PhD in Government – Harvard University

Christiana Loral Myers - Doctorate in History of Art – University of Glasgow

Everett Avison Patterson - Doctorate in Physics (Quantum Information Specialization)

Jacob Barry - Doctorate in Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies – Western University

Tovah Shalom Kashetsky - Doctorate in Biology – University of Ottawa

Vanessa Veilleux - Doctorate in Life Sciences – Université de Moncton

Michaela Ritchie - PhD in Experimental Psychology – UNB – Saint John Campus

Julianne Gerbrandt - Doctorate of Philosophy in Education Studies – University of New Brunswick

Madelaine Empey – Master of science in Biology – University of Ottawa

Anne Laurie - Doctorate in Education specializing in Child Studies – Concordia University

We invite you to consult the section O'Brien Fellows of our website to discover more about them.

As recipients of this scholarship, these students will not only receive financial support but will join the network of past fellows who are accomplished scholars, experts, and peers. 

We extend our heartfelt congratulations to the newly selected recipients for 2023. Your hard work, determination, and passion have earned you this well-deserved recognition, and we have no doubt that you will continue to excel and make meaningful contributions to your respective fields.